The Authors, Alaska & the Klondike

This is a listing of the books, the authors, with biographical information, and the publishers, with date of first publishing, for the books featured in Alaska and the Klondike, Early Writings and Historic Photographs.

 Golden Alaska, by Ernest Ingersoll

Ernest Ingersoll (March 13, 1852 – November 13, 1946) was an American naturalist, writer and explorer. Golden Alaska was published in 1897 by Rand, McNalley & Co.

The Land of Tomorrow, by Willian B. Stephenson, Jr.

Willian B. Stephenson, Jr., (1880 – 1948), was a U.S. Commissioner at St. Michael, Alaska, from 1911 to 1915. The Land of Tomorrow was published in 1919 by George H. Doran Co.

The Spell of the Yukon & Other Verses, by Robert Service

Robert W. Service (January 16, 1874 – September 11, 1958) was a British-Canadian poet and writer. The Spell of the Yukon was published in 1907 by Barse & Hopkins.

The Ascent of Denali, by Hudson Stuck and

Ten Thousand Miles with a Dog Sled, by Hudson Stuck

Hudson Stuck (November 11, 1865 – October 10, 1920) was a British native who became an Episcopal priest, social reformer, and mountain climber in the United States. The Ascent of Denali, was published in 1914 by Charles Scribner & Sons, and Ten Thousand Miles with a Dog Sled was published in 1916 by Charles Scribner & Sons.

From Paris to New York by Land, by Harry DeWindt

Harry DeWindt (April 9, 1856 – November 30, 1933) is best known as an explorer and travel writer. From Paris to New York by Land was published in 1912 by Thomas Nelson & Sons.

Through the Yukon Gold Diggings, by Josiah Edward Spurr

Josiah Edward Spurr (1870–1950) was an American geologist, explorer, and author. Through the Yukon Gold Diggings was published in 1900 by Boston, Eastern publishing Co.

A Woman Who Went––To Alaska, by May Kellogg Sullivan

May Kellogg Sullivan was in her twenties when she wrote this book in 1902, but there is no biographical information about her available. A Woman Who Went to Alaska was published in 1902 by J. H. Earle & Company.

The Land of Nome, by Lanier McKee

Lanier McKee (1872-1943) was an American author and a graduate of Yale University. The Land of Nome was published in 1902 by The Grafton Press.

Along Alaska’s Great River, by Frederick Schwatka

Frederick Schwatka (September 29, 1849 – November 2, 1892) was a United States Army lieutenant with degrees in medicine and law and a noted explorer of northern Canada and Alaska. Along Alaska’s Great River was published in 1885 by Cassell & Company, Ltd.

Alaska: Our Northern Wonderland, by Frank Carpenter

Frank G. Carpenter (May 8, 1855 – June 18, 1924) was a journalist, traveler, travel writer, photographer,  and lecturer. Alaska: Our Northern Wonderland was published in 1923 by Doubleday, Page & Co. 

A Dog-Puncher on the Yukon, by Arthur Treadwell Walden

Arthur Treadwell Walden (May 10, 1871 – March 26, 1947) was a Klondike Gold Rush adventurer, dog driver and participant in the first Byrd Antarctic Expedition. He is also known as an author and developer of the Chinook sled dog breed. A Dog-Puncher on the Yukon was published in 1928 by Houghton Mifflin Co.